Seeking McCoy Descendants To Tell Their Oral Family History

Since there are some knowledgeable McCoy family members commenting here, I am wondering if any of you would like to write about your oral family history, to add to this main part of the blog and thus make sure both sides are equally presented.

It is my sincere hope that if we compare and contrast the oral family histories of the two families, we can come to some consensus on what really happened, and why.

If any of you are interested, leave a comment here, making sure to include your correct email address in the comment form provided, and I will send you an email to discuss it further. Β πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Seeking McCoy Descendants To Tell Their Oral Family History

  1. Hello Appalachianlady,

    Your website is so interesting and informative; thank you for sharing your wonderful perspective on this saga.

    My wife and I have a question. We grew up in northwest Oregon in a small sawmill town, and the county health nurse was descended from a Hatfield. She was a friend of both our families, and she had lots of fascinating stories about her youth in Kentucky and, of course, the feud. Do you know how she might fit into the family tree?

    She told us her maiden name was Nettie Alley; everyone at home called her Sally. She said it was an informal contraction of “Miss Alley” that got started when she was very young. She was a bit older than our parents, so we estimate she might have been born in the very early 1900s.

    We know that some of her nurse’s training took place at Walter Reed hospital. When she came to Oregon she married a local dairy farmer named Ed Condit, so we knew her as Sally Condit.

    We just loved her; she was kind, totally committed to her profession, and incredibly funny. We have no real purpose in making this inquiry, only a wish to know more about this terrific lady.

    Thank you!

    Ed and Marcia Seymore
    Tacoma WA

  2. I am so thankful you posted all this info. I have been crazy about this story for some time and the miniseries just made me crazy wondering what was true ….. so thank you so much !!!
    I know you are crazy busy but if you get a chance I have a picture of Hatfields I was wondering if you would help me label. Thank you again for the info here and jsut for being willing to share your family story with us nosey people.. lol

  3. I want to ask a question that may deviate from the immediate subject of the feud. I always thought that music played a big part of life in the Appalachians, and I wanted to know your perspective if your relatives were musically inclined or influenced. I saw a movie years ago called Song Catcher. It talked about how music came with immigrants from overseas and was passed through generations like your stories of family history. The music became modern day blue grass. I enjoy learning about the feud and the affairs of the heart too, but would like to know more about what entertained these people and gave them motivation to get through what sounds like a very difficult and misunderstood existence by many of us that don’t come from the region. I do have a distant Hatfield relative, a Great, Great uncle John and Libby (Chapman) Hatfield. They were born in the 1870’s. I am not sure of the lineage they obviously passed a long time ago. My father’s side of the family seems to be the hardest to trace. Anyway, I know this is a lot of work for you, but I am riveted. I get updates on my “smart” phone and my wife is getting suspicious because she says I am spending more time on it than usual. (LOL)

    • Stuart,
      I believe or know that much of the music was a derivative of the Scotch-Irish that arrived here. (Also Irish and the British) This is where Country music originated from and changed over the years just as their accents changed. Just trying to help and i would love to hear your thought as well. God Bless.

  4. Hi Appalachian Lady,,, I got your reply but I can’t seem to find it. This page is very confusing viewing stuff. I want to send you a private email that I don’t wanna post on a public page, its for my friend I spoke to you about who has info for you his and families… here is my email Towtrux6@gmail.com and also I do have a blog thing on the site too my user name is towtrux. Thank you and I will be looking for your email hopefully soon

  5. In SE KY there is an attempt to keep records of lineage so that inbreeding is avoided. My brother-in-law thought he was doing enough by marrying someone with a foreign sounding name who was born in Philadelphia. Little did he realize that our mother was raised a few miles away.

    While mom was watching the documentary, she was put off by the amount of drinking and how stupid she thought Kentuckians were being portrayed. Personally I thought Devil Ants and Randell’s wife showed much common sense, and I was glad that they were portrayed in picture taking clothes much of the time.

  6. This blog is making for some facinating reading, especially the coments section with insiteful anwers fron the Appalachian lady. After watching the mini-series and then buying the latest book on the feud, Blood Feud: The Hatfields and the McCoys: The Epic Story of Murder and Vengeance. I am actually more confused. The book borrows heavily from Trudy Mccoys book and Coleman Hatfields bio of Devil Anse plus original research. This whole situation reminds of the famous movie Roshomon. In Roshomon, a woodcutter finds a dead Saumari warrior. We then see the whole story of the Saumari’s death from his wifes view point. The viewer is then treated to the same story from the viepoint of the bandit that killed the warrior. Finally a spiritual medium that talks to the ghost of the Saumari is brought in and he tells the story of the Saumari’s death but from the view point of the dead Saumari. One dead Saumari and 3 different stories on how he died. Facinating movie. The history of the Hatfield and Mccoy feud will allways have mutiple viewpoints on every incident depending on who is telling the story, just like Roshomon.

  7. My mother-in-law’s people come from the Maryland side of WV in the Little Orleans, MD and Piedmont, WV area. When she was a child, she started out her walk to school in Luke, MD, crossed into Piedmont, WV to get to school in Westernport, MD. I think this daily walk was to attend a Catholic school.
    Which church or churches did the Hatfields and McCoys attend? Did they have daily back and forth across the Kentucky – WV border? Was there a actual footbridge?

    • They attended the Church of Christ back then, I think.

      Even today, crossing between West Virginia and Kentucky is a daily thing for many people. I can be in Kentucky from my house in about 20 minutes, so it’s close enough that I could even work there if I wanted.

      As for the footbridge, I’ve heard two different stories. One said there was a footbridge, while the other said the river is so narrow and shallow at that point that you just walk through the water. I’m not sure if they’re talking about the same exact place, but it seemed like they were. So I honestly can’t say for sure what it was like back then, I can only tell you what I was told.

      Thanks for the question!

Comments are closed.